Reviews & Coupon & Compare Prices :)

Magnavox MDR537H 1 TB DVD Recorder/HDD with Digital Tuner (Black) Reviews and Coupon

~ Magnavox
List Price: $ 351.34 ?
Price: $ 16.32?
You Save: $ 166.19 ?
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com in certified Frustration-Free Packaging. Gift-wrap available.
Want it tomorrow?
Order within 2 hrs 11 mins, and choose One-Day Shipping at checkout. Details
Is this a gift? This item ships in its own packaging. To keep the contents concealed, select This will be a gift during checkout.


Most Recent Customer Reviews

Love it

Greatest since the Sony 500 gb when belly up. Plenty of recording space and easy transfer to dvd's. Timer set up is a breeze, I only wish I could connect or use a keyboard for... Read more

Published 1 day ago by DA

Amazon shipping of Magnavox MDR537H 1 TB DVD Recorder/HDD with Digital...

I bought the Magnavox MDR537 HDD DVD recorder 1 TB capacity from Amazon, in hopes of replacing my Cable company DVR. Read more

Published 26 days ago by Renee Overton

Don't bother

Equipment seems to have been a "reshelf" of some kind. Remote control doesn't synch with main devise. Great pictures and adverts but the item is useless. Read more

Published 4 months ago by francisco brambilla

Overall it is a Great DVR but still some valuable features missing

It is my second Magnavox DVR (I use both in different rooms). In general I am satisfied with them as I watch free over the air broadcasting. Read more

Published 4 months ago by Marek S.

So easy, even I can work it.

With the change to digital tv, I needed a way to record programs on various channels while I wasn't at home. You know, like vcrs used to do. Read more

Published 4 months ago by Robert Griffith

Good DVR - but BEWARE if using unencrypted QAM cable

I've have this DVR for 6 months. I'm satisfied with the device. I think it downgrades the image a little, but it is still acceptable. It has plenty of capacity. Read more

Published 5 months ago by 2cent

Works well. User interface could use simplifying.

Frankly, anybody designing a DVR would do well to imitate the Panasonic DMR-EH75V. Of course, there are some things the EH75V did that a modern DVR is simply *not allowed* to do... Read more

Published 7 months ago by Barry D. Gold

Magnavox MDR537H 1 TB DVD Recorder/HDD with Digital Tuner (Black)

It could have a more responsive remote. It takes time to learn how to use your own DVR, but it was worth it to get onto an antenna and dump the cable.

Published 7 months ago by George Peterson

unreliable

I received this 2 weeks ago. The HDD and DVD features all seem to work but when the unit is off the display winks on and off and makes a distinct clicking noise. Read more

Published 10 months ago by lrd

Changed from a 4 to a 5 - Works Great after 6 months so far

11-16-13 Update
After 6 months I have had no issues. Excellent product

I did not buy from Amazon, because Walmart was cheaper.
Read more

Published 10 months ago by J. Cox Jr.


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

88 of 92 people found the following review helpful

8th Generation of Magnavox HDD/DVD Recorders

By wajo on October 3, 2012

The MDR537H/F7 is one of three in the 53x Series of std def (480i) HDD/DVD recorders... 533 and 535 are the others. This 537 has a 1000GB (1TB) HDD while the others have 320GB and 500GB HDDs.

More info at avsforum.com > Forums > Video Components > DVD Recorders > Magnavox 537, 535, 533, 515, 513, 2160A, 2160, 2080 & Philips 3576, 3575.

Page 1 there is the only page you need to read and bookmark.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
The Mag 533/535/537 (53x) Series is the 8th, and possibly final, generation of simple, family-friendly, durable, std def (SD, 480i) analog/digital DVD recorders (DVDR) with hard disk drive (HDD) that are yearly improvements of the same basic design and operating system.

They're the ONLY recorders, SD or HD (720/1080), available for daily use in North America with:

-NTSC/ATSC/QAM tuners for antenna or cable.
-Easily replaceable/upgradeable/expandable hard-disk drive (HDD).
-Easily replaceable DVD/CD drive for burning DVDs and playing DVDs and CDs.
-Widescreen (16:9) recording.
-Amplified coax passthru w/unit on or off.
-Amplified coax and line inputs.
-DV input.
-Coax digital audio out.
-1080p HDMI upconvert.
-36 timer-rec programs with pre-titling.
-6-hour autorecord buffer.
-Pause & rewind live TV.
-Chase play.
-Skip/replay.
-Simultaneous play/record.
-Record while watching diff. channel on TV via coax passthru.
-Integrated TV/DVDR control via HDMI CEC-link.
-1-2 hour power backup, dep. on whether Auto Clock is off or on.
-Simple editing for your archive copies or home movies.
Read more ›

15 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

40 of 41 people found the following review helpful

Great DVR, but overpriced by "Koozam" and "SeizeTheDay" and others

By AaronAbasolo on October 2, 2012

Update 03/01/2013 and 11/15/2012: This item can now be had for only $279+tax, with free shipping site-to-store (at 'Wall-Mart' site).
Amazon current has TWO listings for this IDENTICAL item, the other is Magnavox MDR537H 1 TB DVD Recorder/HDD with Digital Tuner (Black). Some sellers here are STILL overcharging for this DVR, beware!

Original Review with (older) updates:
This is a great DVR for over-the-air TV recording, and it allows you to edit out commercials and copy your shows to DVD (in SD, but it looks pretty good in the SP or HQ mode via the HDMI output), but don't buy it from "Koozam" nor "SeizeTheDay"; they are charging $50 or more OVER list price, plus "Koozam" charges outrageous shipping ($35).

Also, the list price of this unit is STILL erroneously listed today (11/15/2012) as $599.99, the real list price is just $399.99! Note that I say "erroneously", because I don't wish to use a stronger word here, in case it really was an error to say its list price is $200 higher than it really is.

Do a web search for "Magnavox MDR537H", and buy it for $100 less than list price (plus free shipping site-to-store), or wait for Amazon themselves to sell it at a decent price!

Note that this unit is available with THREE different hard disk capacities:

MDR537H: 1TB, List Price: $399.99

MDR535H: 500GB, List Price: $349.99

MDR533H: 320GB, List Price: $299.99

Don't get taken to the cleaners, do your homework before buying!
Read more ›

7 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

33 of 36 people found the following review helpful

Magnavox MDR537H 1 TB DON'T WASTE $100.00 !!!!!!!!! Go to Wall Mart.

By Lee Michael on November 8, 2012

These are awesome units. They are the 80's VCR'S . Everyone should own own one if not two of these units. I went to go buy one in Sept. 2012. to my shock, they were all gone from the market. They had been around for at least five years that I knew of, as far as having the built it hard drive. I had bought a Sony 14 years ago, but like a VCR, it had no hard drive I have 4 of them, and I went to go buy another one of them, only to find they all but disappeared !!! I did find one on E-Bay for $800.00, when brand new I bought them for $249.99. well after being gone for a year or so, they are back, and $100.00 cheaper at Wall Mart.
Magnavox MDR537H 1 TB DVD Recorder/HDD with Digital Tuner (Black)

Comment Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful

Great VCR replacement

By billyray520 on March 23, 2013

Amazon Verified Purchase

Ok, I had a lot of trouble setting it up the day I got it. The major reason was, I expected it to act exactly like a VCR. So here's my tip; When you set the timer for a program, make sure you allow about 15 minutes before the program starts to put the unit into standby mode. For some reason, it needs some time to think, or collect its thoughts before it can record your program when you exit to standby. I kept trying to test the machine by setting up a program that would begin within a couple of minutes of my scheduling it. It wouldn't record that way. (This is all to the HDD) But allowing about 15 minutes works fine. You'll know you are recording, because in standby mode there is just a little red square lit up, (meaning timer is set.) But when the program starts, it will act like a VCR, and the time display will change to time tracking display, HDD will light up, and DTV will light up (if you're taping DTV) When it's done, you have to give it a little time again. It takes about a minute to finish wrapping up a recording, then the display will just show the current time again, and even the little red square will go out. When you go back into check your program schedule, the line for that program will be gone. You can then click "Titles" on your remote and see the video thumbnail of your recording. I haven't tried turning on the unit while it's recording yet. I don't know what will happen if you do that.

This is all I wanted. A smooth, easy to use, no tape hassle VCR replacement. I put a DVD +R in the DVD tray, but I don't know if I'll ever record anything to it.

The wiring hookup went very smoothly, the initial setup went fine. I recommend this to anyone looking for a VCR replacement.

1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


Product Description

ANTENNA Will be able to tune and record all antenna channels. CABLE Will able to record and tune all non-encrypted, non-scrambled, clear QAM cable channels. Call the technical service department of your provider to ask them which channels in your package are the above SATELLITE Will be able to record all non-encrypted, non-scrambled cable channels. Call the technical service department of your provider to ask them which channels in your package are the above

Technical Details

  • Brand Name: Magnavox
www.musicalinstrumentsreviews.co.uk is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com.
www.musicalinstrumentsreviews.co.uk is a participant in the Amazon EU Associates Programme, an affiliate advertising programme designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.co.uk.