Reviews & Coupon & Compare Prices :)

Denon AVR-4520CI Networking Home Theater AV Receiver with AirPlay Reviews and Coupon

~ Denon
List Price: $2,499.00
Price: $1,999.00 & FREE Shipping. Details
You Save: $500.00 (20%)
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com in certified Frustration-Free Packaging. Gift-wrap available.
Want it tomorrow?
Order within 2 hrs 11 mins, and choose One-Day Shipping at checkout. Details
Is this a gift? This item ships in its own packaging. To keep the contents concealed, select This will be a gift during checkout.


Most Recent Customer Reviews

Sounds amazing!

I recently upgraded from a 12 year old Denon 4802 and couldn't be happier. I removed my rear surrounds and now have 9.1 with height and wide channels engaged. Read more

Published 1 month ago by J. Owen

Was ok while it worked.

I have Vienna acoustic speakers and this system couldn't handle 4 ohm speakers. It stopped delivering any sound or video.

Published 2 months ago by Jaysen

Denon has gone steadily down hill from the old days...

Pros: Good Price Point for amount of features. Audyssey XT32, Ample HDMI inputs. 4k support. HD Radio. 4ohm compatability. Network hub. Network apps. Network upgradeability. Read more

Published 5 months ago by BigShotCafe

Very Disappointing for the Money

I am very disappointed with this receiver. As far as I can tell, basically all the salient features on this unit are available on much lower priced models. Read more

Published 13 months ago by DJC5850

NO THX CERTIFICATION? ??

This supposed to be Onkyos compitition? PLEASE.No THX cirtification? And weighs less than HALF of the Onkyo TX-NR5010!!! Read more

Published 14 months ago by brian

Zone 2 HDMI is pass through

Upgraded to this Denon becasue I have been waiting years for a zone 2 HDMI option. The 4520 has a "zone 4" pass through... Why? Read more

Published 16 months ago by ML

11.2? Use zones and main is 7.2...

I had a customer who recently purchased this RCVR, it is amazing except the following....
11.2 only works if you run 2 speakers out to preamp, the RVCR is built with only 9...
Read more

Published 17 months ago by All Satnet


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

86 of 88 people found the following review helpful

Comparision vs. Denon AVR-4311ci

By kamiraa on November 10, 2012

I think a lot of people whom are considering this class of AVR are coming from last generations 4 series (avr-4311ci), so this review will cover differences for those people.

FOR those who DON'T currently own a 4 series, let me just say it's an amazing receiver, IF you are building a serious theater room or listening area it's WELL worth the money (relative). It is one of the very few receivers that can handle 11.2 channel DSX and with it's additional capability, features, and quality it is truly currently the king of all receivers in 2012.

FOR AVR4311ci Folks:

First off, the amplification circuitry looks to be about the same, same power ratings.

They tweaked the Audyssey even though Denon claims they didn't, because I'm getting significant different results from my AVR-4311ci in the same room, same speakers, same everything. They tweaked it for the better, because everything sounds to blend perfectly, and the eq's records dead on once I mic'd the room using an external source. AFTER enabling the XT32 results and the response curve is perfect. This is to verify for the folks out there, LEAVE the Audyssey XT32 EQ on, it works PERFECT, I'm hoping my extra steps of measurement will save you time in your setup if you question what it's doing. Just make sure to perform Audyssey DSX property and use all 8 listening locations as it is measuring the acoustics of the room NOT seating locations. Even if you have a single chair in the room, use all 8 locations to measure the acoustics around the room per Audysseys recommended locations.

I had to adjust the levels of the surround speakers and sub since I always consider those levels too low for my taste (a preference thing). The EQ remains in tact with these manual adjustments.
Read more ›

5 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

46 of 48 people found the following review helpful

Excellent receiver. Big improvement over more recent Denons.

By Lars Milano on December 15, 2012

Verified Purchase

I used to be really into Denons AVRs. Had several units in pre-HD days and my most recent one before this 4520CI was an AVR-2805 that I loved. Then came HDMI and after having handshaking issues with Denon's initial offerings, I looked elsewhere. Enjoyed an Onkyo TX-NR905 for a while then replaced that with a Yamaha RX-Z7. Both were great. I purchased, tried, but eventually passed on a few Denon models at the time and went for these alternatives simply because in my opinion, they were overall better receivers than Denon's when I factored in sound, feature-set, and overall connectivity ease. While HDMI is still a pain to this day, some receivers handled it better than others.

Recently, my home theater needs have changed and I wanted a more current model that supported the latest fads and gimmicks. Happy with my RX-Z7, I initially decided to step up to another Yamaha, the RX-A3020 from their flagship Aventage line. Fantastic sounding receiver, typical of all Yamaha AVRs I've experienced, but with one big flaw: the HDMI handshaking bug existed in my unit. Without getting into too much detail with that issue, I decided to return the Yamaha and try others. Ordered a Denon AVR-4520CI which showed up DOA after likely being dropped several times by UPS from the damage to the box. This first shipment was not double-boxed like Amazon normally does and the result was apparent shipping damage. Since I was on a roll with my AVR misfortunes, I decided to order several other AVRs so I can try them all out. Ordered another 4520CI from Amazon, and a Marantz 7007 and Onkyo 5010 from another vendor. All arrived in one piece and after a week with these units, one came out clearly on top: the Denon AVR-4520CI.
Read more ›

11 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

42 of 54 people found the following review helpful

Beware of service delays

By Dr. Talk on January 21, 2013

Verified Purchase

I got the Denon AVR-4520CI at Christmas after doing MONTHS of research. It worked as expected for almost a month. I had to reset the processor one time, but no big deal. However, not 30 days into ownership and it decided not to play audio from components or within itself (AM,FM,network). Called Denon and they were quick with a service tech to listen to my issue. We spent 40 minutes on phone trying to see if the problem was external to the unit. It wasnt. Now for the kicker...I live in Georgia and they have one authorized service center, though not too far from where I live, the service center said it would take at least a MONTH to fix the unit. I checked around, even discussed shipping to authorized service centers in other states. All were pretty much slammed and said the same thing. If Denon wants $2500.00 for a unit like this, they need to step up and get more authorized repair centers to do warranty work. I have had this unit less than a month and it is going to spend more time than that in the shop. Not good.

4 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Disappointing reliability

By A. Raffel on December 11, 2013

I really would like to give this receiver the highest praise, but: I can't.

It is great when it is working, but it has not been working enough hours/days since I owned it. Meanwhile I am on my 3rd replacement (all under warranty), AND an additional 2 repairs. All this less than 6 months after my initial purchase.
I just received it back from the latest repair, and it worked fine for a week.

Now it switches the sound off because it seems to detect headphones (displays "H/P input on/off): this switches randomly within seconds forth and back. Usually sound is lost for minutes.

I am not even going into details of the previous problems with green screen, faulty ethernet panel, ...

Again, if working as designed, I'd give it 5 stars. After all my trips to the repair shop, a 3 star deduction is warranted.

Update: I was so annoyed with the reliability that I felt compelled to write a letter to Denon. Customer service has responded with the best case scenario: the next problem means I get a new unit (originally I had purchased a refurbished one) and my warranty is extended for another year. I'm going to add another star because of this.

Comment Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Amazon Free 30-Day Tech Support: This item is eligible for free tech support for 30 days from the date of delivery. Over the phone, our trained technicians can help you set up, configure, connect, and troubleshoot so you can start enjoying your new purchase. Owners of qualifying products can reach Tech Support by calling 1-800-362-5703. Learn more
  • Twelve-Month Financing: For a limited time, purchase $599 or more using the Amazon.com Store Card and pay no interest for 12 months on your entire order if paid in full in 12 months. Interest will be charged to your account from the purchase date if the promotional balance is not paid in full within 12 months. Minimum monthly payments required. Subject to credit approval. 1-Click and phone orders do not apply. See complete details and restrictions.

Product Description

From the Manufacturer

Distinguished by its impressive stature and comprehensive features, the Denon IN-Command AVR-4520CI A/V Receiver is a centerpiece addition to any home theater system and the flagship model in Denon's line of IN-Command A/V Receivers. It delivers 150 watts per channel--more than enough power for the largest of rooms and the most demanding of speakers. With seven HDMI inputs and three HDMI outputs, the receiver lets you enjoy high-definition audio and video from a range of devices in multiple rooms. The AVR-4520CI incorporates true multi-zone HDMI audio/video distribution with its HDMI matrix-switching functionality.

Denon IN-Command AVR-4520CI A/V Receiver Product Shot

Offering nine discrete 150-watt channels along with a dual subwoofer, the AVR-4520CI receiver lets you experience superior surround sound. View larger.

Superior Surround Sound and 3D Pass-Through Technology

The AVR-4520CI receiver is a 9.2-channel A/V receiver that offers nine discrete 150-watt channels for dynamic surround sound along with dual subwoofer outputs for optimal bass performance throughout your room. You can view 3D movies through your home theater system using the receiver's pass-through technology.

4K Upscaling for Pristine Picture Quality

This Denon receiver upscales all video signals to 4K (3,840 by 2,160 pixels), which provides four times the picture quality of 1080p. This enables you to use it with 4K monitors and video projectors.

Advanced Functions to Play Streaming Media

The AVR-4520CI IN-Command A/V Receiver allows you to enjoy a variety of advanced network content, such as listening to Internet radio and playing media stored on your computer. The AVR-4520CI supports services like Sirius XM, vTuner Internet Radio, Pandora, Spotify, and Flickr as well as Apple's AirPlay technology, which allows you to listen to media from the iTunes library on your iPad, iPhone, iPod touch, PC, or Mac. The receiver is DLNA 1.5 certified and compatible with PCs running Microsoft Windows 7.

Optimum Sound with Audyssey MultEQ XT32

The AVR-4520CI comes equipped with Audyssey MultEQ XT32 to create an immersive, balanced acoustic profile for your home theater system. Audyssey MultEQ XT32 automatically customizes your home theater to overcome acoustical problems specific to your room, resulting in exceptionally clear sound. MultEQ XT32 uses high-resolution equalization filters, making it ideal for large or odd-shaped rooms. The receiver also incorporates Audyssey Dynamic EQ and Dynamic Volume for comfortable and optimal listening of any source at any volume.

Immersive Surround Sound with Audyssey DSX Technology

The AVR-4520CI comes equipped with Audyssey DSX. Audyssey DSX expands surround sound beyond 5.1 with more speakers for an immersive and lifelike home theater experience.

Assign Power Amps for Different Audio Setups

The AVR-4520CI supports up to 9.2 channels for surround playback. You can reassign the amplifiers from the two surround back channels to power a pair of front height speakers, or, to achieve higher-quality sound for two-channel stereo playback, you can configure the AVR-4520CI for front bi-amp operation.

Four-Source, Four-Zone Capability

The AVR-4520CI can be the centerpiece of a whole home system, including the main room plus three additional playback areas, with independent sources available for each zone. It supports up to three different video sources and three different audio sources.

Enjoy Two Different HDMI Sources Simultaneously

The AVR-4520CI incorporates true multi-zone HDMI audio/video distribution with the inclusion of its HDMI matrix switching functionality. Equipped with three HDMI outputs (two parallel and one discrete), the AVR-4520CI allows for the connection of up to three different HDMI-equipped displays. The receiver can send two different HDMI feeds to two displays at the same time directly from the receiver, eliminating the need for costly external switches or remote control complexity.

Denon IN-Command AVR-4520CI A/V Receiver Product Shot

Because it features seven HDMI inputs and three HDMI outputs, you can connect a variety of devices. View larger.

Connect Your HDMI-Equipped Devices

The receiver is outfitted with seven HDMI inputs and three HDMI outputs (two parallel and one discrete) so you can enjoy high-definition audio and video from a variety of HDMI-compatible devices, such as set-top boxes, Blu-ray players, game systems, and media players like Roku and Apple TV. An HDMI input on the front of the receiver offers a quick, convenient connection for portable devices such as camcorders and HDMI-equipped smartphones and tablets. The front panel also has a USB port to directly connect your iPod, iPhone, or USB drive to the receiver. A flip-down door on the aluminum front panel neatly hides controls and connections when you're not using them.

Intuitive Graphical User Interface and Remote App

The AVR-4520CI features a Setup Assistant along with a graphical user interface that simplifies the initial setup and daily operation of the receiver. In addition, the receiver supports the free Denon Remote App, which lets you operate the receiver's main controls from your iPad, iPhone, iPod touch, or Android smartphone.

Denon Link HD Jitter-Free Audio Transmission Technology

The AVR-4520CI also incorporates Denon Link HD, Denon's proprietary jitter-free audio transmission technology, which is designed to work with Denon's DBT-3313CI Universal Blu-ray Player.

Built-In IP Control Allows for Custom Integration

The receiver also features versatile custom integration-friendly features, such as RS-232 and IP Control for third-party controllers for seamless integration with home automation systems.

Product and Warranty Information

Sporting a sleek black finish, the receiver measures 7.66 by 17.09 by 16.64 inches (H x W x D) and weighs 36.38 pounds.

The Denon AVR-4520CI IN-Command A/V Receiver is backed by a three-year warranty.

What's in the Box

AVR-4520CI IN-Command A/V Receiver, remote control with batteries, HD Radio antenna, power cable, Audyssey setup microphone quick setup guide, and owner's manual on CD.

Denon
IN-Command AVR-4520CI A/V Receiver
At a Glance:
  • Nine discrete 150-watt channels for dynamic sound
  • 3D and 4K pass-through technology
  • Advanced circuitry converts all video signals to 4K
  • Audyssey MultEQ XT32 creates an optimal acoustic profile for your home theater
  • Play separate audio and video in two areas at once with multi-room capability
  • Seven HDMI inputs and three HDMI outputs to connect a variety of devices
Denon IN-Command AVR-4520CI A/V Receiver Product Shot

The graphical UI is intuitive to simplify the daily operation of your device, and a flip-down door on the front panel hides controls and connections when you're not using them. View larger.

Product Description

9.2 Channel 4K Video & 3D Video Pass Through Networking Home Theater Receiver with Apple Airplay and Multi-Zone Video. For the ultimate home theater experience, the Denon AVR-4520CI networked 9.2 channel A/V receiver puts you in command with its extensive array of network connectivity options, along with the latest 32-Bit high power DSP processing (three 400 MIPS DSP processors). Equipped with seven HDMI inputs and three HDMI outputs, the AVR-4520CI features the latest high definition video processing with up conversion to 4K (3840 x 2160) along with 4K and 3D pass through and graphical user interface overlay, including dual HDMI simultaneous outputs and a third HDMI output for multi zone viewing of another source. A full suite of the latest high resolution surround sound decoders includes Dolby TrueHD and DTS HD Master Audio, along with Audyssey MultEQ XT32 room acoustic correction and Audyssey Sub EQ HT dual subwoofer acoustic correction.

Product Details

  • Product Dimensions: 16.6 x 17.1 x 7.7 inches ; 41.9 pounds
  • Shipping Weight: 44 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Shipping: This item is also available for shipping to select countries outside the U.S.
  • Shipping Advisory: This item must be shipped separately from other items in your order. Additional shipping charges will not apply.
  • ASIN: B0092KZCKC
  • Item model number: AVR-4520CI
  • Average Customer Review: 3.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (11 customer reviews)

Technical Details

  • Brand Name: Denon
  • Model: AVR-4520CI
  • Output Wattage: 150 Watts
  • Surround Sound Channel Configuration: 9
www.musicalinstrumentsreviews.co.uk is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com.
www.musicalinstrumentsreviews.co.uk is a participant in the Amazon EU Associates Programme, an affiliate advertising programme designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.co.uk.