Reviews & Coupon & Compare Prices :)

Apple USB Superdrive Reviews and Coupon

~ Apple
List Price: $79.00
Price: $69.99 & FREE Shipping. Details
You Save: $9.01 (11%)
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com in certified Frustration-Free Packaging. Gift-wrap available.
Want it tomorrow?
Order within 2 hrs 11 mins, and choose One-Day Shipping at checkout. Details
Is this a gift? This item ships in its own packaging. To keep the contents concealed, select This will be a gift during checkout.


Most Recent Customer Reviews

Superdrive, Apple USB

Worked from the first moment...glad I bought the higher (and Better) device.It's worth the shot, give it a try now.

Published 18 hours ago by Ernest O. Brown

Awesome product

It plugged right into my mac and worked. I haven't had a bad apple product. I don't think the off brands work well with apple which I like. Read more

Published 21 hours ago by John C. Leblanc

superdrive

Does what it is supposed to. easy to use and easy on the eyes. small and compact so can fit anywhere

Published 1 day ago by Carol K. Setliff

A must have for the new Macbook Pro that doesn't have a CD/DVD drive.

This is a quality product. As always, just what I expected from Apple. All you do is plug and play.

Published 2 days ago by Thomas L. Yokley

Works Great

I wanted to get rid of all of my music CD's but none of my Macs have a CD reader. It a little on the expensive side but I was able to copy over 100 CD's into iTunes and then sold... Read more

Published 2 days ago by Peter Bourget

You need it

Since the newest iMacs do not have a dvd drive you will need to add an external drive. This does the job perfectly and without any hastle. Read more

Published 3 days ago by ldj

Ok for the MAC

if you want to get this and use it for your MAC and Windows PC, think again. It can only be used with the MAC and you have to go thru the MAC eject disc procedure in order to get... Read more

Published 6 days ago by Rocky

love it!

My macbook air does not come with a disc drive so I had to buy one separate. I love this thing! It works like a charm. Doesn't have a long cord which is great. Less of a hastle. Read more

Published 8 days ago by Piggydot21

Need Help fro you

My machine won;t take any CD's inside of the slot I plugged it like the instructions called for but the thing rejects it. I think there is a defect. Read more

Published 9 days ago by Angelo L. Carrion

Awesome

This is the same drive that is sold on the Apple store website. It was a very good purchase and I am enjoying this!

Published 9 days ago by Doc Jackson


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

285 of 299 people found the following review helpful

A rebranded Air Superdrive, but efficient nonetheless Update: Not quite complete rebrand

By DJMoody on June 27, 2012

This "Apple USB Superdrive" is basically the exact same thing as "Apple Macbook Air USB Superdrive", except with the new Macbook pro's shipping out without an internal disc drive, they just decided to drop the "Air" from the Superdrive.

What is wonderful about this drive is that it only requires one USB Port. Often you'll find external drives requiring 2 USB ports, one for Power, and one for data. On a laptop with as few USB Ports as Apple ships with, this is borderline unacceptable. As a computer Engineer, I need at least 1 port free for various interfaces, so an external drive that requires both my usb ports just wont work.

Design: While I have my gripes about Apple, build quality is not one of them. This thing is sturdy, thin, and requires a minimal amount of desk space. I actually fashioned a "bookstand" like enclosure which makes it vertical, which means it takes up even less desk real estate.

Speed: I didn't notice any major difference in speed between a medium quality laptop internal disc drive and this one.

The one thing I wish it had: Blu-ray support. I can dream can't I? That said, discs are on their way out. Which is why I'm okay with the superdrive being seperate from my laptop. I only use it when I'm at my desk anyways.

All Said and done: If you already have the superdrive for the air, don't get this one, its not any different, at least not enough to notice. If your computer does not have a disc drive like the air and retina pro, this is the drive to get, if you plan on using it for anything besides emergency purposes. If you plan on using an external drive 1-2 times a year, there are cheaper options out there. That said, this one is a great blend of build quality, ease of use, and not using a ton of my valuable ports.
Read more ›

14 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

156 of 165 people found the following review helpful

Functional, within limits

By DragonBoy on October 1, 2012

The new Mac Mini desktops no longer have a superdrive. I bought this USB external to go with my Mini used as an HTPC. It is nice aesthetically, has a slot-load, and fits very cleanly into my setup. Funtionally, I have had no problems with this drive. It has played every disc I have used in it and successfully burned all writeable/rewriteable media without making any drink coasters. There are a few things I think others should know before they buy:

1. The drive must be directly connected to the Mac. A USB hub will not work. I have tested it with several USB hubs and the drive will not function. I was told that this is due to the drive's firmware limitations only allowing itself to work with Mini or Air products.

2. The USB cable is extremely short, just a few inches long. This is not in any pictures or mentioned in any specifications on Amazon. Combine this with #1 and you must have the drive in the immediate vicity of the Mini (or Air). If you're like me and have the Mini stored in an out-of-the way location (typical in HTPC setups) then this is a big inconvenience. I had to use a USB extension cable to relocate the drive to a convenient place without having to relocate the Mini too.

3. The chassis is flexible enough that you do not want anything placed on top of it or you may encounter trouble inserting/ejecting discs. Even the weight of just the Mac Mini itself was enough to cause me trouble. After I bought the extension cable and located the drive where I desired it, this was not a problem. I did not see any scratches in my media when it had the problems.

PS: I have not tried any 3" or oddly-shaped media in this drive. Based on an unfortunate experience with the Superdrive in my macbook pro, I expect this drive will not support them.

9 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

62 of 65 people found the following review helpful

Works with other intel Macs (small trick)!!!

By B. Carter on August 6, 2012

I can CONFIRM that you can use this superdrive with a MacBook Pro 2010 and other recent Mac computers (supposedly not supported by apple).
My stock internal drive refuses to accept blank DVD's, but will read and burn CD's. I decided to go the easy route and get the external for the times I need to read or burn DVDs rather than repair the MacBook Pro myself and risk ebay purchases for a similar cost. This drive is extremely convenient since it doesn't require any other power cords - just a single USB cord for power and connection. I bought my USB MacBook Air Superdrive directly from the local mac store. This one has the CD-Raw format which means it is the newest version of the mac superdrive. It appears to be slightly better than the one it is replacing.

Found online, by typing (copying and pasting) one line of code and pressing return in the terminal window (run the application called Terminal in your Applications/Utilities folder),

sudo nvram boot-args="mbasd=1"

and restarting the drive becomes 100% functional when plugged in. Prior to this, plugging in the superdrive into the USB port didn't work in the least - it wouldn't even accept a inserted DVD! After the trick and restart, I could insert, eject, burn blank DVD media. After you press return in the terminal window, you'll need to type in your administrator password.

The computers I successfully tested with this superdrive and trick were:

17" MacBook Pro 2.66 GHz Intel Core i7 OS X 10.6.8
MacMini Core 2 Duo 2.66 GHz OS X 10.6.8
iMac Core 2 Duo 1.83GHz OS X 10.7.4 (and also booted it from 10.7 OS DVD to see if it would boot)

The computers I tried unsuccessfully were (trying a variety of complicated tricks):
15" Powerbook G4 1.
Read more ›

4 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Buy Used and Save: Buy a Used "Apple USB Superdrive” from Amazon Warehouse Deals and save 44% off the $79.00 list price. Product is eligible for Amazon's 30-day returns policy and Prime or FREE Shipping. See all Used offers from Amazon Warehouse Deals.
  • Buy Refurbished and Save: Buy a Refurbished "Apple USB Superdrive" and save 17% off the $79.00 list price. Buy with confidence as the condition of this item and its timely delivery are guaranteed under the "Amazon A-to-z Guarantee". See all Refurbished offers.

Product Description

From the Manufacturer

The perfect complement for the MacBook Air, MacBook Pro with Retina display, or Mac mini, the sleek, compact Apple USB Superdrive enables you to play and burn both CDs and DVDs--whether you're at the office or on the road. It's perfect when you want to watch a DVD movie, install software, create backup discs, and more.

USB superdriveThe sleek Apple USB Superdrive (view larger).

Take It Anywhere

Only slightly bigger than a CD case, the Apple USB SuperDrive slips easily into your travel bag when you hit the road and takes up little space on your desk or tray table when you're working. The USB SuperDrive measures 5.47 x 5.47 x 0.67 inches and weighs just 11.84 ounces (0.74 pound)

The Essence of Simplicity

You'll never have to worry about lost cables with the Apple USB SuperDrive. It connects to your MacBook Pro with Retina display, MacBook Air, or Mac mini with a single USB cable that's built into the SuperDrive. There's no separate power adapter, and it works whether your Mac is plugged in or running on battery power.

What's in the Box

Apple USB SuperDrive with attached USB cable; user's guide

Specifications

  • Writes DVD+R DL and DVD-R DL discs at up to 6x speed
  • Writes DVD-R and DVD+R discs at up to 8x speed
  • Writes DVD-RW discs at up to 6x speed and DVD+RW discs at up to 8x speed
  • Reads DVDs at up to 8x speed
  • Writes CD-R discs at up to 24x speed
  • Writes CD-RW discs at up to 16x speed
  • Reads CDs at up to 24x speed

Product Description

Compact and convenient, the Apple USB SuperDrive connects to your MacBook Pro with Retina display, MacBook Air, or Mac mini with a single USB cable and fits easily into a travel bag. It lets you install software and play and burn both CDs and DVDs, including double-layer DVDs.
Features:
* Everything you need in an optical drive. Whether you're at the office or on the road, you can play and burn both CDs and DVDs with the Apple USB SuperDrive. It's perfect when youwant to watch a DVD movie, install software, create backup discs, and more.
* Take it anywhere. Only slightly bigger than a CD case, the Apple USB SuperDrive slips easily into your travel bag when you hit the road and takes up little space on yourdesk or tray table when you're working.
* The essence of simplicity. You'll never have to worry about lost cables with the Apple USB SuperDrive. Itconnects to your MacBook Pro with Retina display,MacBook Air, or Mac mini with a single USB cable that's built into the SuperDrive. There's no separate power adapter, and it works whether your Mac is plugged in or running on battery power.
Specifications:
Slot-loading 8x SuperDrive (DVDA±R DL/DVDA±RW/CD-RW)
Writes DVD+R DL and DVD-R DL discs at up to 6x speed
Writes DVD-R and DVD+R discs at up to 8x speed
Writes DVD-RW discs at up to 6x speed and DVD+RW discs at up to 8x speed
Reads DVDs at up to 8x speed
Writes CD-R discs atup to 24x speed
Writes CD-RW discs at up to 16xspeed
Reads CDs at up to 24x speed
Size: 5.47x 5.47 x 0.67 inches; 139 x 139 x 17 mm
Weight:0.74 pound; 335 grams

Product Details

www.musicalinstrumentsreviews.co.uk is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com.
www.musicalinstrumentsreviews.co.uk is a participant in the Amazon EU Associates Programme, an affiliate advertising programme designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.co.uk.